GEELONG star Steve Johnson and Hawthorn premiership heroes Luke Hodge and Sam Mitchell head the list of 62 unrestricted free agents announced by the AFL on Friday.

Cats veterans Matthew Scarlett, Paul Chapman and Corey Enright are also on the unrestricted list, as are Brisbane Lions champions Jonathan Brown and Simon Black, West Coast skipper Darren Glass and St Kilda's Leigh Montagna.

They are all free to leave their clubs at the end of this season if they choose, without being traded or entering the NAB AFL Draft.

And some of the game's biggest names also feature among 19 restricted free agents, including Collingwood's Travis Cloke, Saint Brendon Goddard and Richmond's Brett Deledio.

Restricted free agents can field offers from other clubs, but their club has the opportunity to keep them by matching the rival offer.

Geelong, St Kilda and the Eagles have the most unrestricted free agents with seven.

Essendon and Hawthorn both have six.

Free agency will be introduced in the AFL at the end of this season.

It is designed to allow long-serving players who meet certain criteria to move between clubs with greater ease.

A player's free agency status depends on factors such as length of time at one club, contract expiry and pay

Clubs who lose players to free agency will be compensated with draft picks.

The free agency window will open on October 1 and run for three weeks, overlapping with an extended three-week trade period, which closes on October 26